Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 7, 2006, 2:51 AM   #1

Hey Guys,

I am new to digital cameras and am trying to decide on one before going on a trip in a few weeks. I am looking in particular for a compact point-and-shoot camera that takes crisp, clear pictures when in its "automatic" setting. I would like to budget within around $400US.

Some cameras that I have been looking at so far are

- Canon's SD700 (with Image Stabilization) but it is a little pricey
- Canon SD550 (cheaper, but no Image Stabilization)
- Casio EX-Z850 (cheaper, but rumoured that you have to play with settings to take good pictures)

. I have heard some good things about Panasonic, but I haven't investigated their compact cameras yet.

Ideally, I would like the camera to have the following features:

- Take crisp, clear pictures with a high-quality lens
- 3x optical zoom would be sufficient
- Optical Image Stabilization would be nice
- Video isn't terribly important
- Compact and solidly built
- Larger 2" to 3" LCD screen
- Metal casing preferred
- Rechargeable Li-ion battery preferred over AAs
- I would like it to be reasonably quick inbetween photos

Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thanks!
Bryan

bdonkersgoed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2006, 3:32 AM   #2

The Panasonix DMC-FX9 seems to receive good reviews, is cheap, and offers image stabilization. Any opinions on this camera?

Thanks,
Bryan
Old May 7, 2006, 2:02 PM   #3

The Fujfilm FinePix F10 and F11 are also receiving great reviews on www.dpreview.com. The sample pictures also look pretty great! I think I am leaning more towards this camera now. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Bryan
Old May 8, 2006, 9:46 PM   #4

Maybe we should just let you continue your learning curve.