Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 7, 2006, 12:51 PM   #1

Hi, My wife and I have a new baby on the way, so it's time to upgrade to a new digital camera (from the Canon S230). We will mostly use the camera to take pictures of the baby in all types of light situations. But I also would like to use it outdoors for occasional pictures of birds or city landscapes (only occasionally). N.B. I am a complete amateur when it comes to photography. That said, here are the other features I would like:

- At this point, I think I'd prefer a point and shoot;
- low shutter lag so we don't miss cute faces;
- excellent zoom (10x or greater preferred, but not mandatory);
- easy to learn and use- not gigantic (but it does not have to be a supercompact);
- image stabilzation;
- must have a viewfinder and preferably a traditonal one, but digital will do;
- Does not need the highest MP count; and
- forgiving of a lousy photographer like myself.

I also have a regular SLR. It is a Pentax ZX-50, with a 35-80 lens. In addition I have an old lens for a manual (I think) Pentax. It is a Promax One Touch Macro 80-200mm f4.5. Would it be possible to use any of those lenses with a Pentax dslr? I would prefer to stay away from a DSLR given my severe lack of skills, but if I already have some lenses, then that could change the equation.

Finally, I would like to spend no more than $600. Many thanks for any guidance!
vincef is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2006, 10:29 PM   #2

Upon some thought, I am not completely averse to a dSLR as long as it is easy to use in auto mode.
Old May 8, 2006, 10:07 AM   #3

Ask about the lenes in the Pentax digital SLR forum. Likely the answer will be that some will work and some won't.