Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2006, 6:01 PM   #1

Looking to get one of these 2(unless someone recommends a better one).

Is 1 better than the other? as I've heard good things about both. Not too worried about difference in megapixels as I know when you get decent optics at this level, a 2 megapixel difference shouldn't make a huge difference.

I am new to Digital SLR's and have prev only really used point and shoot cameras before. Now making a major upgrade as I want a really decent camera which will last.

I want a camerathat has pre-sets/automatic settingsif I need them but also ability to manually set anything asI get more experienced. Photos I would be taking will be wide ranging(portrait style, landscapes, day and night photos, wildlifeetc)

Also, in addition to the std lens you get with these 2(18-70mm) are there any other basic lenses etc I need(as I've also seen an offer for a D70s with 18-70mm lens and a sigma 55-200mm).

btw, much diff between D50 and D70s?
nw86281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2006, 8:37 PM   #2

nw-

I sold my Nikon D-70 and got a D-50. I like it a whole lot better and it produces less noise. I also own the Canon 350D/XT because I teach DSLR clases, but I really dislike the grip, which is very pinched, and the viewfinder which compared to the D-50 is certainly of a lesser quality.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 12:49 AM   #3

Hello,

I would suggest you seriously consider the Olympus E-500 with the 2 lenses kit. I believe you will find it to be a viable contender for your consideration. It has some drawbacks...as does EVERY camera out there. That said...it is a top notch camera....and I have had excellent results with it thus far.
randypamjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 8:05 AM   #4

randypam-