Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2006, 10:32 PM   #1

:-)Hello everyone:

I'm very new to photography and this is my first post,so please be gentle.

I''m well aware that this question as been asked many times before,and having gone

shopping for a new DSLR it's a jungle out there.What to buy is what I need help with.I have narrowed it down to these three Cameras.Nikon D50 with 18-70mm Olympus E500 with the two lense kit 18-45 and 45 -150 and last to my surprise the ist dl from Pentax with 18-50 and 50 -200.The cost is almost equal with the Nikon been the most costly.I want a camera that will last me for a few years my intention is to use it for Landscaping photography and the add car race.I have read reviews on the Olympus and my concern is with the noise if shooting above 400 iso,any one have any comments ?The ist from Pentax feels right to me ,the cost is an advantage . Is there any users of the istDL that can share comments.Please any advice will be welcomed.

Thanks to all Ross
quartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 11, 2006, 12:42 AM   #2

Quartz,

I have recently purchased the Oly E-500 with the two lenses kit. I can say it has exceeded my expectations...and quite frankly...has defied what little negative PR it has received..ie; small VF...noise at high ISO's.

As MT has said...he owns the D-50 and the E-500...and he has had very favorable comments regarding the E-500. I think it would also be safe to say that MT would not have purchased the E-500 if he felt it was in any way an inferior camera. All that said...he is partial to the D-50.