Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 13, 2006, 8:30 PM   #1

I graduated from college today and have some extra cash now. I have been wanting a 5D but haven't had the funds in a while. I have them now and wonder if I buy now will it be a waste or will I be one of the lucky ones to end up with a KM body? If the alpha has a much better sensor I think it may be worth the wait, I have waited quite a while and accumulated lenses in the process. i have 2 panasonic superzooms now (FZ15 and my wifes FZ4) we have a baby due in October and I would like the camera to play with over the summer.

Ernie
TopSpin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2006, 10:11 PM   #2

TopSpin80 wrote:
Quote:
I graduated from college today and have some extra cash now. I have been wanting a 5D but haven't had the funds in a while. I have them now and wonder if I buy now will it be a waste or will I be one of the lucky ones to end up with a KM body? If the alpha has a much better sensor I think it may be worth the wait, I have waited quite a while and accumulated lenses in the process. i have 2 panasonic superzooms now (FZ15 and my wifes FZ4) we have a baby due in October and I would like the camera to play with over the summer.

Ernie
I was over at Circuit City and they dropped the price on the 5D to 631 with the kit lens. I don't know if they had any in stock or just the display. When I bought mt 7D a couple of weeks ago the price was much higher otherwise I probably would have bought the 5D. I paid 949 for my 7D but the lens it was packaged with goes for 379 by itself so I still got a good deal. As for whether or not to wait for the Sony, that is a tough one. I can tell you this.... the current 6'1 megapixel sensor is more than adequate for any kind of picture taking.
meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 12:12 AM   #3

The question is when you want to start shooting. Is it now or in a few months?