Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 16, 2006, 7:39 PM   #1

Complete newb here, sorry if this is a really dumb question. I've been reading up on both cameras for awhile now, and was really leaning towards the D50 comparing the two on paper, and from the lenses available (18-200 VR, etc). Today I finallywentandheld both cameras in person though, I like the feel of the E-500much more. (I have problems with the tendons in my wrists and the Olympus doesn't seem to aggravate them as much as the Nikon did...maybe it's the weight?)

I thought it would be great to have the 50mm 1.8 lens on the D50 for shots of our newborn around our low-lit house. Is it really dumb to force the issue and get the D50 which feels less comfortable to me just because I want to use a $100 50mm f1.8lens?I can't seem to find a comparable lens for Olympus unless I went with a converter, and then AF is out. Given that I'm a newb, I might need that AF help for awhile :-)

TIA!

Marley
mrmarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 17, 2006, 8:03 AM   #2

You need to pick the camera you will enjoy using. D50 IMO is a better camera but I agree the 'feel' of the Oly is better.
dequardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006, 9:29 AM   #3

Thanks for your reply dequardo. I did find an Olympus 50mm Macro f2.0 for $450 after rebate, so at least I now know there's an option out there if I save my pennies for a bit :-)

I'm going to go try them both out today one more time before deciding.

Just curious, what do you personally like about the D50 more? Lens selection, image quality, etc?
Old May 17, 2006, 9:42 AM   #4
Administrator

mrmarley wrote:
Quote:
Thanks for your reply dequardo. I did find an Olympus 50mm Macro f2.0 for $450 after rebate, so at least I now know there's an option out there if I save my pennies for a bit :-)
Keep angle of view differences in mind when lens shopping.