Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 18, 2006, 7:19 AM   #1

Hello to all...

I'm searching for my first digicam. I'm an absolute amateur picture taker using a AF standard srl.

I'm having my eye on the Fuji Finepix S 5600. Yesterday I went to Fnac and asked to manipulate one. From what I've seen and touched I'm not sure if I'll get used to the evf. I'm used to slr's and compact camera viewers.

I know that it's quite a subjective issue... I ask those who had been trough the same If they got used to it.

Regards
Newbie_PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2006, 8:24 AM   #2

An EVF is something that I've never fully gotten used to. It is often hard to see --darkness and bright sun both present more problems to an EVF than an optical viewfinder. An eye cup helps a lot, but it's never as good in terms of image quality. Manual focusing is really hard, even with the "zoom" that most EVFs provide.

On the other hand, there are two things that it does better than optical -- first, you get the complete field of view in the EVF. In terms of composition, it is truly WYSIWYG. And second, it shows you the real exposure in the viewfinder before you shoot. Under the right lighting conditions, you can do manual focus from the viewfinder, with or without the live histogram -- another plus of the EVF.