Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 20, 2006, 11:31 AM   #1

my son is looking to buy himself (so money is an issue) a new digital camera. He pretty much has his choices narrowed down to the Fuji s5200 or the Sony H2. We have been having a lot of discussion about the relative merits of IS vs better low light performance. He asked me to please post this up here and see if anyone could weigh in and offer him assistance with his decision. He wants a camera that takes good photos under a variety of conditions. He definitely does want the ultra zoom for the added flexibility they give. Can anyone help please?

Thanks, Peggy

pmanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2006, 12:51 PM   #2

I have a couple of teenagers, and portability is the biggest consideration for them. If your son is like my kids, you might want to consider the Panasonic TZ-1. I have no personal experience with it, so can't say whether it's worth getting, but I do know that small is good for this age group. (I got my daughter a Casio Exilim which she still uses four years later and my son a Canon SD200, which he continues to use two years later). While neither of these have the zoom that you're looking for, they are both very easy to slip in your pocket and bring out if the occasion warrants -- but not be seen as a dork if it doesn't!

tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2006, 12:59 PM   #3

IS can work wonders expecially on superzoom cameras but I have never used either of these cameras. Why not consider the canon S2 IS, it fits the price range, it has 12X zoom and digital zoom for a total of 48X I believe (if you're into digital zoom) and IS plus a bunch of cool features and a roating screen. But if your stuck on one of those two I like the Fuji but then again I have never used either camera and I hear good stuff about the H2 also
badhabbit05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2006, 1:10 PM   #4