Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 2, 2006, 10:04 PM   #1

Hello,
I'm new to the DSLR World, and an amateur photographer in its truest sense of the word, but I've been following these forums for a few weeks trying to get an idea of what camera will best suit my needs as an amateur. Of course money is always a consideration.. I'm looking for a DSLR that will allow me to capture good sports action shots of my kids playing baseball, soccer, Ice Hockey, etc.., but still be a good 'all around' camera for normal family events. I'm thinking that Hockey will be the toughest challenge given the frequent low light situations that exist in the Rinks that we play in.

The camera that first caught my eye was the Olympus E-500 Kit, with 14mm-45mm and 40mm-150mm lenses. It had a great look and feel to it, but after reading the comments regarding possible 'noise' problems in low light situations, I've decided to stay away from it. I know there are software 'touch-up' apps like NOISE NINJA, etc.., but I want to stay away from that unless absolutely necessary. I've read great things about the Nikon D50 including it's ability to handle 'low light' environments, and was leaning towards getting it along with a Tamron 18mm-200mm lens (since the Nikkor VR is a little out of my price range)...until recently.

I just read an article praising the KM Maxxum 7D. It talked about it's 9 point AF system and it's image stabilization capability. Steve's 'BEST CAMERAS' listed in in its 'Enthusiast Digital SLR' Category and gave it favorable Reviews. This is one category higher than where both the Olympus E-500 and Nikon D50 were listed. As it turns out, I can get the KM 7D with an 18mm-70mm KM AF lens for $699. I like the idea of a single lens solution (18mm-200mm), but given this price, I was considering a Tamron or Sigma 70mm-300mm to complete the package.