Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 8, 2006, 11:25 AM   #1

If I used a KM7D with auto mode, would the image quality be better than if I used the Sony H2 in auto mode? I'm a novice, P&S person, but willing to learn.

Eventually I would like to take photos in a school gym, where there will be very low light, plus I will need a zoom lens. Would the KM7D with the Tamron lens that I've read about on other threads (28-300 I think) give me what I'm looking for? Will I be able to use the auto mode for this?

All advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
techaide2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 8, 2006, 12:07 PM   #2

The bargain priced Tamron 28-300mm lens for the KM 7D being sold by Cord Camera and Cameta Camera are not bright enough (do not have a sufficiently wide enough aperture to take good photos without flash) in a conventionally lighted gym.

You would need something like a F 2.8 aperture when at your desired zoom to get what you want.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2006, 10:33 PM   #3

Approximately how much would a lens like that cost?

Also, getting back to leaving the DSLR in auto mode, will those pictures be better than a P&S camera in auto mode?

The prices are coming down so much on the entry level DSLRs. I'm trying to decide if I should get a better camera and hope that I can learn to use it - even though I know it's too much camera for me right now. At the same time, I hate to spend twice as much money and not see a big difference in the image quality.:?

Thanks again for your help.

Old Jul 8, 2006, 11:45 PM   #4

techaide2 wrote:
Quote:
Approximately how much would a lens like that cost?

Also, getting back to leaving the DSLR in auto mode, will those pictures be better than a P&S camera in auto mode?