Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 8, 2006, 10:21 PM   #1

I'm a professional pilot and I've already got way too much to carry while I'm on the road for 2+ weeks at a time, so ultra-compact is what I'm looking for.

I've only owned one digital camera in my life…it's a Kodak DC4800 and I've never been happy with the picture quality. 9 out of 10 close-ups are out of focus and everything seems quite grainy.

I've started to look around and have narrowed my search (though by no means finalized my search) to the Casio EX-Z600, the Canon SD600 and the Olympus Stylus 720 SW. I'd like to stay below $400 and in the 5-7 MP range.

I have some concerns about each. The Casio and Olympus do not have an optical viewfinder…only the LCD screen. I've had one or two people recommend that I stay away from cameras w/o and optical viewfinder. How big of a deal is this?

The Olympus is attractive because it is supposedly quite durable, which is a plus since I'll always have it stuffed in my backpack, etc.

The Casio is said to have outstanding battery life, but it also has a docking station. I'd like to have to pack as little as possible while on the road.

I don't have too much to say about the Sony other than I've read some positive reviews.

So, based on the above criteria, which is the best choice? Or are there others that I'm overlooking?

TIA.

Tipsy
TipsyMcStagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2006, 7:28 AM   #2

I have a Canon Ixus 40, but there are newer/better ones out now I believe (such as the one you've mentioned), but I couldn't praise it more, it's been fantastic.

Size/looks are excellent and the picture quality has been great too. Mine is 4mp, my girlfriend has a similar camera, only it's a Casio something with about 6mp but the pictures dont seem to be as good as on the Canon.