Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 13, 2006, 2:02 PM   #1

Aloha-

I have been researching and reading for two months. Narrowed my search down to 2 camera's. The new Sony H5 and the new Canon S3. Leaning towards the Sony because of the large and high quality diplay. Seems like their pic's are about equal. I worry a little about the memory stick for Sony. Had Canon 35mm most of my life - but digital is a whole new world. My only Digital is a 4 year old Olympus 3030. Okay at the time, but no color in the photos.

We are taking a two week trip to the South Pacific. I do very little indoor or flash. Mostly outdoor and sports.

Would appreciate any direct insight.....

Canoe Paddler Tom
paddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2006, 2:40 PM   #2

Well SD cards are cheaper than MS Pro Duos, but then again the H5 comes with the tube adapter for mounting filters and adding tcons/wcons, plus batteries and a charger.

If you need burst speed then the S3 is the one to go for , 2.2fps vs 1.2 fps

Also the H5 has a very slow recharging flash, it is however way more powerful than the flash on the Canon so if you need reach notspeed then consider that.

I suppose it comes down to quality of pictures taken in the end, check out the ones shown off in each of the forums here and in other forums such as Dpreview..
Sintares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2006, 2:57 PM   #3

Thank you. I don't need burst and don't use the flash much. Picture quality in bright sun and the larger view screen plus the items you mentioned seem to give the edge for me to the Sony. Now if I can just find one in Hawaii. Will probably do Amazon or Crutchfield. Good about returns.

Mahalo-

Tom
Old Jul 13, 2006, 3:26 PM   #4

One thing about superzooms is you get addicted to zoom !

The H5 goes perfectly with the VCL-DH1758 tcon.

Its a x1.7 tcon, taking your camera to x20 , 734mm equivalent ... nice.