Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 16, 2006, 12:08 PM   #1

I've been been using a Sony Cybershot for a while and I'm not ready for a real camera. I've been reading and shopping for some time now. I'm finally ready to make my purchase, however I'm having trouble making my final decision. I've narrowed it down to the Nikon D70 or D200. There is a big price jump to the D200, and seeing as how I'm still learning some of the terminology, I'm not sure if it is worth the $$$. Can anyone give me their opinion as to which way to go? The only real differences I seeare the resolution, YRGB Histograms, the body is metal instead of plastic, more fps, and an all around a faster camera. It's also almost double the $$$.

Any help at pushing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Of course I'm leaning towards the D200, but still thinking of the D70 due to the price. Need to be sure it's worth the difference. Thanks for any comments.
towndrunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2006, 12:29 PM   #2

I have neither of the cameras that you mentioned. Instead, I have a Pentax *ist DS, which I like very much.

You have a Sony Cybershot digicam now, right? Either of the cameras you are considering would be a huge upgrade. Unless you have a specific need for the D200, my recommendation would be to buy the cheaper camera. Use the money you save to buy a good lens or two. In a couple of years, when the price of DSLR's will have dropped, you can upgrade to something better than the D200 for less money.

What are you taking pictures of? What conditions do you take pictures in? What do you want to be able to do that you can't now (with the Cybershot). I think forum members can give more helpful advice if you answer these questions.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 1:20 PM   #3