Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 16, 2006, 11:38 AM   #1

I'm just getting into photography. I'm thinking this camera will be a gateway to learning more about digital photgraphy overall and eventually maybe a true DSLR camera.

What I expect to take pictures most of are wildlife (possibly fast moving) and sports oriented stuff. From recent experience with my little Kodak EasyShare burst mode and image stabilization are very important.

From reading and researching so far I've narrowed things down to the 3S IS or the FZ7. The Canon right now has a slight edge due to less noise and seems like it might be better for action shots. The downside is the FZ7 is ~$100 cheaper. I'm not sure if the slightly better optics in the Canon will make a huge difference in the kinds of action shots I'm likely to do.

Any advice/pointers? Thanks!
evenprimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2006, 12:42 PM   #2

evenprimes-

Most wildlife and sports photographers use 400 to 500mm lenses. While the FZ-7 and S-3 are good P&S cameras, they are not DSLR cameras because they do not have interchangable lenses.

With the $100 rebate being offered by Pentax, on thePentax DL perhaps that camera should be included in your list of cameras to consider. The new Pentax K100D, being introduced this month will also have image stabilization.

MT
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 12:59 PM   #3

Thanks for the feedback. I know the FZ7 and 3S IS aren't true DSLRs. Right now I think my time and money will be better spent on a 'high-end' P&S. I don't have the $$ for even the Pentax (although it does look nice and I think I'd be better off learning a bit more before spending too much money.