Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 25, 2006, 7:12 PM   #1

This will be my first digital camera. I have been using a point-and-shoot film camera for several years now... before that I had an old, old Olympus SLR film camera. I am excited about getting into more advanced photography but will probably ease into it by using a lot of the automatic settings on the SLR at first (just want to have the optionality for later).

The new GX-1Ljust got a strong review in Pop Photo (and was also recommended by a friend who works in the industry) but I can't find any stores in my area that carry it. I've heard it performs better in low-light than the Canon or Nikon models I've been considering.

Anyone have any advice for me about which of these three cameras is the best option? Thanks!

DLB13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 25, 2006, 8:49 PM   #2

Unfortunately, the Samsung DSLR cameras have not really faired very well in the reviews, excepting PopPhoto. Take a look at www.digitalcamera info.com and their look at the GX-1S. The review by www.dcresource.com of the GX-1S was a bit better.

The Pentax K100D, just days away from its introduction, offers OIS, at about the somewhat higherprice. Is that an interesting feature for you? Do you do much low light level shoot? That is where, IMHO it would be most effective.

The Nikon D-50 is also competitively priced and offers a wealth of lenses as well as a very low noise signature. Nikon will be introducing a new model soon as well, but it will most probably be positioned between the existing D-70 and D-200 cameras according to industry pundits.

The Canon XT is liked by a lot od users. I feel it is almost too small with a very small, pinched grip and avery dark viewfinder. I would suggest that you physically hand;le and DSLR's that you are considering.