Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 31, 2006, 3:37 PM   #1

This is my first post on the forums here, so I hope that I am clear in what I need! I have been an avid digital photographer for about six years. My first camera was an Olympus D-460Z, and I have only had a couple of cameras since that time. My second camera was a FujiFilm Finepix S5000 Zoom and third was a Canon SD200. I mainly use my Fuji for special events (weddings, vacations, etc.) and my SD200 for general use. My Canon's LCD decided to white out on me and is not covered under warranty. As an aside, I do not understand how that is the fact considering it was in a leather case and was never dropped or hit. Anyway, this puts me back on to the market for a new general use camera with the ability to replace my S5000 Zoom. I have been reading plenty of reviews, but I thought I would come to the forums and ask for some advice. There are so many good cameras on the market!

I suppose I am looking for a Swiss army knife type of camera, but I am sure I can find an acceptable feature set for my needs. I want to be able to take those quick photos as well as set it up for a nice night shot. A good example is that my current cameras do not have a lot of manual controls to allow for low-light situations. I was on a trip to Seattle and wanted a picture on the skyline overlooking the city. My camera did not expose anything behind me, but my friend's camera, a dSLR with customizable exposure, etc., was able to get a nice picture. I am not sure if that type of customization is available in a small form factor camera or not.

As far as specifics go, I want the following:
-Nice optical zoom
-Manual controls or a way to get nice photographs in most situations
-Optical viewfinder (I am not a fan of the LCD viewfinder, but I can compromise.)
-Preferred SD memory (This can be compromised, too.)
-File transfer without a docking station
-Small form factor