Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 3, 2006, 9:26 PM   #1

Trying to narrow down a digital camera to buy. Have been looking at dSLR's due to the great picture quality & versatility. I figured a dSLR would be my best bet because I enjoy taking pictures of family, landscape/nature shots, "studio" type pictures of my newborn, and any other pictures I can take (sports, vacations, etc….) I'm no pro, but I enjoy taking pictures. I have an interest in photography, and can see myself getting more into it.

I don't want to break the bank. Just want a camera that will allow me to grow as a photographer. Over time I can see investing more on lenses and accessories, but want to be able to carry them over to other cameras.

I have been looking at the Canon Rebel XT because I have a 35mm Canon Rebel 2000, and was happy with it. Or is there another camera in this price range ($600-$800) that I should consider?

Need some advice because I'm new to this and have been told so many different things.
  1. Can I use 35mm lenses on a digital rebel? [/*]
  2. Are all lenses & accessories interchangeable between the 35mm Canon Rebel 2000 & the Digital Rebel XT? [/*]
  3. Can you use 3[suP]rd[/suP] party lenses on Canon's [/*]
  4. I've also heard a lot about the Nikon D50 and the Olympus E500. Any input on those or any other dSLR I should consider [/*]
  5. If I go with the digital Canon Rebel XT (or something comparable), could I save money and buy just the body and use the lens I have from my 35mm Canon Rebel and invest in a better lens?[/*]

sapro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 4, 2006, 11:28 AM   #2