Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 14, 2006, 10:34 AM   #1

Hi everyone - HELP - HELP - HELP-I need to buy a Hybid video / stills camera that is small (pocket size) and will give very good video results for a 2 year archiving project I will be starting in September this year (2006). I've looked at the Sanyo range:- HD1 has bad low light reviews and the C6 seems OK(?)-1. I need a camera that will give very good video results in doors and out doors.2. 640 x 480 video with 25 to 30 fps (frames per second) and with good sound quality.3. Li-ion rechargable battery.4. Optical zoom must be 5x or greater.5. Must have tripod mount.6. Quiet or silent zoom function.7. Will work with a 1GB or 2GB SD memory card.8. It must be small.9. Still's must be good enough quality for the web.-*I have been a video maker / editor for over 10 years working mainly in Mini DV.* I use / teach Final Cut Pro at a University level.-Many thanks in advance,TT.
Techi-Tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 15, 2006, 12:35 AM   #2

Well your choices are very limited with all these requirements. To start with, you can forget about lesser brands like Aiptek and Mustek because they do not have 5X zoom (most of them don't even have optical zoom lens).

The Sanyo C6 gives decent to good indoor "low light" performance - however, how "low" is the "light"? My experience says at least 100W bulb in a small sitting room is the bare minimum (picture is grainy and color fades). Natural sunlight coming in from the patio door gives decent video. These are just personal opinion and only you can decide - problem is not many stores sell them, and it is difficult to get hold of one to make a test shot indoor inside the store. Even then, the video may look good on the little LCD screen of the camera but far worse on you computer.

If you have much more $$$ to dish out, this is another device to consider: