Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 17, 2006, 5:16 AM   #1

I have zero experience with dslr cameras but I am about to buy one since I like taking pictures.

I am thinking of the Nikon D50 or the Pentax K100D.

I am not that price sensitive wich means that I can go up in price.

Since I have no experience with DSLR cameras is it worth to go with a more advanced camera than the ones mentioned above?

I am thining of the new Nikon D80 or something like that.

Rekomendations are more than welcome!!

Sorry for my english, not my mother tongue.
Fenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2006, 10:17 AM   #2

Both the NikonD50 and the Pentax K100D will take outstanding pictures, and are excellent buys.

I was more or less in your shoes a very long time ago - my boyfriend presented me with a 35mm SLR camera for a present (still don't know why he did that - I was an instamatic person and had never said anything about wanting a more advanced camera. I suspect that today he regrets that first purchase, he's been my husband for over 25 years and has had to pay the camera bills since!).

It was a basic camera (Pentax ME) with a couple of lenses. I bought a couple of books about basic photography and learned about shutter speed and aperture, focal lengths and focus. That experience was absolutely priceless! That little camera with the basic prime lenses I got with it gave me 20 years of wonderful picturetaking memories, and those same lenses are continuing to give me pleasure on the K100D.