Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 21, 2006, 11:42 AM   #1

Hi there. I'd like to get an easy to use camera that I can grow with as my abilities get better. There are three particular picture types that I'd like for the camera. 1. I'm a realtor, so the ability to have decent low light shots of home interiors (and exteriors!), with or without a flash, would be good. 2. We have a craft business, and I need to be able to take good pictures of our furniture for our website. 3. I collect old spoons, and would like to be able to take pictures that would show the details. My budget is up to $300 or so, though I'd like to spend less if possible. I was looking at the Canon A620 but am open to ideas. Thanks, Frannie
Frannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 21, 2006, 8:49 PM   #2

In all honesty, Frannie-

You probably cannot do everthing with a single camera, unless you wanted to go to a DSLR camera, there are just too many requirements that you have rolled out, all in a single requirements package. Take a look at the Pentax K100D DSLR camera, it can do the job for you, but I'm not sure it is within your budget requirements.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2006, 9:08 AM   #3

I agree with MT - you asked for a jack of all trades, but it sounds more like one situation in most cases - indoor with natural lighting. for interior shots, you'll want a wide angle view to capture as much of the room as possible. the kit lens on most dslrs start at 18mm, which is 27mm equivalent and will capture a large amount of space in a confined area. the K100D was mentioned above, but you can still get it's predecessor for under $450 with the kit lens I mentioned above. If you can stretch your budget upto $500, and are willing to learn alittle about photography, the Pentax *ist DL will take you well beyond the situations you described. Good luck!
milrodpxpx is offline   Reply With Quote