Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 23, 2006, 5:36 AM   #1

Hello, friends! I'm completely new to dslr world and need some help to meke up my mind about my first dslr camera. After reading many review, photos and user opinions I narrowed my search to above mentioned 2 kits. But unfortunately never saw any hand-to-hand comparision of them. Does anyone here have experience of using them both? I would appreciate any helpful insights.
Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2006, 6:22 AM   #2

Both cameras are equally great. However, the E-500 is more superior on features and design IMO wherebout the K100D should be better in low light situations due to the AS feature and 6 MP APC-C CCD.

If you bring kit lens into the equation, then the E-500 with the dual combo will be the best of the lot for price. The 50-200 later will cost you more since getting as a kit is always more value for money (Cheaper).

Unfortunately the K100D does not (like Olympus) offers the 18-55 and 50-200 together with the K100D body as a kit. You can get the E-500 kit that includes the dual kit lens and the E-500 body. (A shocking deal indeed)!
BenjaminXYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2006, 6:37 AM   #3

Thank you for your reply, Benjamin You're right about great kit deal on Olympus. Additional lens for Pentax will cost me about 300 dollars. My main concern about e-500 is small viewfinder that almost everybody mentions, 3 AF poings vs. 11 on Pentax and absence of Shake Reduction System. Can you comment that 3 issues, please?
Old Aug 23, 2006, 8:37 AM   #4

Flynn, although the TTL viewfinder of the EVOLT E-500 is small, the Pentaprism is high in quality and have 0.9x magnification>>>http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Olym...s/inhand01.jpg

You can alsonote the anti-reflective coating on it.