Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 23, 2006, 8:31 AM   #1

Hi everyone, I am completely new to the world of cameras, be it standard digital or dSLR, and am looking for a dSLR style camera for around £240.
Of course I have done some research and narrowed it down to two different ones:
Sony-Cybershot DSC-H2
or the
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ7

I have heard good things about both, and tried them both out at the store, but didn't know what excatly I was looking for...I realised the Panasonic had a farther zoom, but seemed to muddy up at the highest zoom end, although the guy in the shop said this was because of the extreme low battery (it was flashing red) and it should auto focus when you slightly depress the shutter release.
The Sony seemed to hold clarity but i didn't like the zoom button on the back, I much preferred the joystick just around the shutter release on the Panasonic.
Sorry if it is a but long, but which one do you think would suit me the most? Which is better in general?
Thanks

JM

(I have also looked at the Canon S2-IS, but heard that wasn't as good)
(I have posted this on another website but came here to get different [or similar] opinions, so sorry if you've seen this before)
Jack_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2006, 11:24 AM   #2

Hello, I say go with the Panasonic Lumix........

shooting_rubber.
shooting_rubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2006, 11:36 AM   #3

Hi, I have the FZ7 and love it! The lens seems sharp and fast. I have taken really nice wedding photos and wildlife pics in a refuge near my home. I also have a E-500 which I like for a dslr, but for the money I love the panasonic. I took a pic of a hummingbird which is posted on this forum under "post your pictures" forum in the wildife section "entitled: my best hummer". Check it out. I am just a beginner but I thought the camera did a good job despite that handicap. Donna