Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 23, 2006, 11:32 AM   #1

I need some help with this one. I was all set on getting a 350D or a 30D and then Nikon comes out with this new camera that looks pretty good. I'm not a professional photographer, but I grew up with a dark room in my house and have been taking pictures as long as I can remember.

I'll be using the camera to take senic shots, portraits, and some sports shots. I travel enough and to some cool places that a simple point and shoot doesn't get the job done. I can spend about $1400 if I need to, but would love some input in which one to get.

I usually research big purchases to death, to the more feedback, the better.

Thanks
doubleA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2006, 12:58 PM   #2

Forget the 350D, compare the 30D and the D80 (when there are reviews to compare. Why do I drop the 350D, based purely on how it feels in your hand, unless you have very small hands the 350D is uncomfortable.

So let the Nikon vs. Canon rumble begin. You should get some interesting responses. I liked the 20D and the D70 so I have no clear preference for the Nikon D80 or the Canon 30D, just get the one that best fits your hands, your budget and your shooting style.

BTW I am impartial since I own a Pentax.

Ira
Monza76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2006, 1:13 PM   #3

Thanks for the input Ira. My problem is that I've used a D70s to do a wedding recently and thought it felt and worked great. I've also used a 20D to do some work in the past as well. Now that 30D and the D80 are out, I'm stuck.

So why do you like the pentax?

Matt
Old Aug 23, 2006, 1:52 PM   #4