Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 24, 2006, 11:42 PM   #1

I am by no means a professional photagrapher, but am looking for a good "ultra-compact" camera. There are a few things that are important to me.

First, I would like it to be small, light and easy to take anywhere. Second, I would like it to be at least decent in low light, as I take a lot of shots in restaurants, etc. Third, I really prefer it to have some sort of anti-shake or image stabilization feature.

Picture quality is obviously important to me as well, but I will not be printing out large prints. Very rarely will I print something larger than 4X6 (and most the time the images just stay on my computer). With that in mind, what camera would everyone recommend? Again, ultra compact size, low light performance and anti-shake or IS are important to me.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Marbury021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 25, 2006, 5:34 PM   #2

Anyone?

Some cameras I've looked at: Casio EX-Z60, Casio EX-Z600, Sony DSC-T9, Canon SD700IS, Casio EX-Z850, Casio EX-Z1000.

Some other considerations... I don't want to have to make manual adjustments. I'm definitely more of a point and shooter. The reason I want anti-shake or IS is for my hand movement... I've had problems when I zoom.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Marbury021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2006, 6:45 PM   #3

Marbury021 wrote:
Quote:
Second, I would like it to be at least decent in low light, as I take a lot of shots in restaurants, etc. Third, I really prefer it to have some sort of anti-shake or image stabilization feature.

I think there are starting to be more cameras out now with an image-stabilzation feature. Panasonic, Canon, and Pentax come to mind and there are probably more.