Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 27, 2006, 9:56 AM   #1

I'll admit, I'm new to the SLR world. I want to try to make a transition from a point and shoot camera. I've read good things about the D50 and the 350D, but I'm still not sure what to get. Things I'll be shooting will probably be random things, not just a specific thing like sports, weddings, etc. I've done some research on these cameras, but I'm still lost at which one to pick. I know that it's said that you can't go wrong with either of these, but are there any pros and cons people that own these cameras want to list? Which one is the better buy for a beginner?

I keep reading reviews about the 350D being "too small" or "cheap feeling", but I'm no professional, so I doubt that would bother me. Plus, I'm a woman, so my hands aren't that big. I've seen pictures taken by the 350D and they were amazing. Also, does anyone know the average battery life for the 350D? On the other hand, I have alsoread reviews about the Nikon D50, and have been hearing good things about it. Would anyone like to share their own pictures from these cameras so I can see? Thanks!

Ultimately, I know that it really depends on how well the photographer takes the picture, but I'm a beginner and I just want to know which one the community likes better ^^; Whichever one I buy, I'll probably buy only the body and a 50mm f/1.8 to go with it because I heard the kit lens wasn't all that great.

Anyways, thanks in advance for all you kind peoples' help!
loveholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 27, 2006, 10:45 AM   #2

Canon 350D has a very small grip making it uncomfortable to hold if you have medium to large hands. The small grip holds a tiny battery which is why the battery life is so short, however there is an optional grip for the Canon that holds two more batteries and gives a vertical shutter release.