Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 29, 2006, 3:31 PM   #1

Hello everyone, I live in South Africa and have only recently wanted to buy a camera, partly because I am in the film industry, an actor, and have a passion for the visual medium. And partly because I am 23 years of age and have recently started working so I guess some money is burning a hole in my pocket.

What I want to do is take allot of portraits where the subjects are not aware of the camera. So my main focus involves people which mean that they could be stationary or be moving. And since I know so little about my choices, besides feeling massively overwhelmed I would like some really good feedback in terms of me wanting to print these out and putting them up in my apartment. I cannot afford huge prints and since this is my first time trying my hand at this art of photography I feel way too timid to just dive in and spend all of my months salary on a SLR style camera. So what do you guys think of the Fujifilm S5600? Or would something like Canon Powershot A700? Like I said I have no clue, I suppose I am a romantic at heart so most of these images might be in black and white but I would like as much as manual control over options so that I can connect with the subject as well as having more options at my disposal. So please help a guy out and perhaps I can get my head around this all.

Also I saw what seems to be this great digital photography manual online... well they say it is, is it work the buy or are there more than enough resources online which are free to learn from? Here is the link.
http://www.123di.com/buy.htm
Thank you so much for your time everyone.

mase is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2006, 4:10 PM   #2

Would it be ethical to sneak snaps of people w/o their knowledge/permission?

This bothers me!:?
Kamal Hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 2:10 AM   #3