Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 31, 2006, 10:57 PM   #1

Hi,

Okay, I'm between the Nikon D50 and Pentax K100D, but now I'm wondering...I'm a newbie and know nothing about SLR's except what I've been reading. I'm planning to take some classes, but don't know if I can wait to purchase the camera. There's a fire under my fanny and I want one now, well in the next couple of months :-). I'mlooking to buy an entry level DSLR, but:

1. Does it make more sense to wait a little longer and buy the next step up from an entry level or will it be too difficult:Oto learn?

2. If you own an entry level DSLR and then moved up, do you regret your purchase of the entry level camera? What did you purchase as your upgrade?

If I go with the Pentax, I love the idea of being able to purchase so many different lenses. I wouldn't be able to afford as many lenses if I go with the D50.

I appreciate any feedback given now and all that I've already received.

Thanks
afayec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2006, 11:10 PM   #2

afayec wrote:
Quote:
1. Does it make more sense to wait a little longer and buy the next step up from an entry level or will it be too difficult:Oto learn?
This industry moves so fast that waiting for the next big step usually means losing time you could be taking pictures. Even the the most complex pro models have simple modes suitable for beginners.

2. If you own an entry level DSLR and then moved up, do you regret your purchase of the entry level camera? What did you purchase as your upgrade?
Some people buy high end big zoom digicams and then regret it when they get their hands on a dSLR, but I don't personally know of anyone who regretted getting an entry level dSLR. Just pick the one that best fits your purpose, budget and hands.