Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Nov 13, 2006, 6:46 PM   #1

I am giving this disclaimer:
I am no expert on the different species of Peregrines. As best I can determine the two that I have photographed are Adult and Juvenile Anatum Peregrines. So, I appologize if I am in error, However, I am still jumping out of my skin with excitement at having had the opportunity to get these shots.

I went back to the refuge early Sunday morning and I was lucky enough to come across another Peregrin. This time it was darker and from what I can tell I think it's a juvenile Anatum Peregrine, as opposed to the Adult, this time. The sun was dancing in and out of the clouds so some shots were dark, but when the sun did come out. Oh, baby it was good.
As before, if you would like to see all the shots from that day here is the link,

http://scienceguy.smugmug.com/gallery/2124582
Thanks for looking and all the best,
Steve

Here is a shot from the front with the Sun on it's back.

Buzzsaw, I took your advise and cloned out the distracting twigs and leafy bits. Thanks for the tip.

Another

Here is a different angle with the beautifull Sun just starting to shine.

Finally in full Sun.

smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 13, 2006, 7:16 PM   #2

Hey STeve you lucky dog. Luck may have been in your favor for getting an opportunity to shoot another/more Peregrines but it didn't have anything to do with the most outstanding captures you have made here. They are terrific. I'll bet you will be pitching a tent out there before long.:G

Houston
Houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2006, 8:31 PM   #3
KEM

Steve, these shots are fantastic! I'm very impressed with your Gadwall and Pintail shots on your link. Looks like you have made great strides in mastering the exposure and lighting on that D80 / 200-500 Tamron combination. Beautiful pictures and settings!