Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Jul 4, 2003, 8:03 PM   #1

Default woodpecker from hike

I was out hiking today in a State park when I saw a pair of woodpeckers having lunch (notice the lunch ant at his foot!) I wasn't fast enough to catch one feeding the other, but I was able to get a few pictures of this one. Unfortunately, I was shooting through 2 trees so the branch interference made the shot rather difficult (that branch slightly in front is from another tree.)

My guess is a immature Downy, but the red is wrong. Anyone have a better guess?

Canon 10D 100-400 @400, 1/180, F6.7, ISO 400
Neat Image to remove noise
PS: Crop, Sharpen, and minor levels

As usual, any and all comments welcome. That is how I improve.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 4, 2003, 8:59 PM   #2

I really like that shot. I don't even mind the branch in front.
There is such thing as a red-headed woodpecker but I'm no expert on birds.
In what order do you post-process you pics.
Do you sharpen and then use neat image?
I find neat image can do a pretty good job especially on noisy backgrounds, but for me, it also softens parts of the image that I want to remain sharper. I have played around with the program a bit but definitely have not mastered it yet.
jazcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 9:28 PM   #3

Hey, that's pretty good, especially at 400 ISO!! Canon really has the noise reduction and flash down pat. Maybe someday Nikon will follow suit!. Can't tell the size from here but could it be a Hairy Woodpecker? It runs about 1.5 or so times the size of the Downy.
Kevin G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 11:39 PM   #4

Thanks both of you for the kind words.

jazcan

My workflow in PS is really rather ad-hoc. It's what I've developed over the past... month or so.