Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Jun 21, 2004, 10:12 AM   #1

These two Black-chinned Hummingbird nestlings are 16 and 17 days old and nearly ready to fledge from the nest. The nest is in a location which has been used by one adult female for the past three years. It is in a red delicious apple tree in our orchard, precisely tree number A15x5. Hummers like orchards and the measured rows of trees form a grid which gives us a unique opportunity to study the spacial relationships of the nesting birds. As a licensed master bird bander I am studying hummingbird nesting and behavior as no one has before. For several years I have captured, banded and uniquely color-marked several thousand hummingbirds of nine species in five states to study various aspects of their biology.

Because of potential risk to the birds, I generally discourage nest photography unless there is a particular and justifiable purpose for it. I post this image which I took yesterday of a nest I have been monitoring as part of a study. Shortly after, I banded and measured the birds, then replaced them in the nest.

The nest is fairly fragile, constructed of plant down and woven together with spider silk which gives the nest flexibility to expand as the young grow. The female camouflages the nest with bits of leaf and bark.

In the "fall" migration of late July and August, I am fortunate to attract several thousand individual hummingbirds each day to my yard and gardens. This gives me an opportunity to get a few hummingbird photos.

Hummer
(my internet nickname since 1995)
Attached Images

Hummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2004, 10:31 AM   #2