Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 11, 2004, 11:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default

another series of bee macro shot...

Camera Model Name
Canon PowerShot Pro1
Shooting Date/Time
7/10/04 9:18:36 AM
Shooting Mode
Aperture-Priority AE
Photo Effect Mode
Vivid
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/250
Av( Aperture Value )
4.0
Metering Mode
Center-weighted averaging
Exposure Compensation
0
ISO Speed
50
Focal Length
11.0mm
Flash
On
Flash Type
Built-In Flash
Flash Exposure Compensation
0
Red-eye Reduction
On
Shutter curtain sync
1st-curtain sync
White Balance
Daylight
AF Mode
Continuous AF
Super Macro
On
Color Space
Adobe RGB
Owner's Name
Andre Christian

Attached Images
 
andre christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 11, 2004, 11:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,748
Default

Beautiful, almost acrobatic. You are doing wonderful things in macro with that camera, thanks for sharing!
Normcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 12:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
geoffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,025
Default

Yeah, Andre, fantastic job on that picture. The colors are also very intense.

Ahh, I see from your exif info that you used flash on this macro which explains the uniform lighting but also the slightly blown highlights on the stamens of the flower.

Where is the flash located on your camera? I can't use the flash on my camera for macros because it is shielded from the subject in closeup work by the lens itself. Why wouldn't that be true of your camera too?
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 1:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default

geoffs wrote:
Quote:
Yeah, Andre, fantastic job on that picture. The colors are also very intense.

Ahh, I see from your exif info that you used flash on this macro which explains the uniform lighting but also the slightly blown highlights on the stamens of the flower.

Where is the flash located on your camera? I can't use the flash on my camera for macros because it is shielded from the subject in closeup work by the lens itself. Why wouldn't that be true of your camera too?
the flash on pro1 right on top from the lens...I can use the flash for my macro shot because i've zoom a little bit to save some room for the flash....

hope this explained...btw your spider macro have a superb moment...

forgive my bad english.
regards
andre christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 1:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
geoffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,025
Default

Ok, Andre, I understand now.

On my camera I have 2 macro modes, regular and supermacro. In supermacro mode the lens is fixed at almost max zoom so it is telescoped out far enough to make using the flash useless. I use the supermacro mode alot because it allows me to get in really close, maybe up to only an inch from the subject, but lighting becomes problematic at times because of the close distance.

Thanks for looking in at my spider closeups. And don't worry about your English - I have no problems understanding what you are saying.
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 1:33 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default

I shot using supermacro mode too.btw if you make a distance from your subject...you said it fixed in supermacro mode...i would ask how fixed the focal length? mine has 90mm in 35mm equivalent...

that's why i can do macro with flash instead using macro twin lite...

regards
andre christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 1:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
geoffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,025
Default

Well, that is interesting Andre. I just looked at my manual and it says that my supermacro mode is fixed at 92mm in 35mm equivalent with a minimum focusing distance of 2 inches. I guess for my spider photo I was at 2 inches from target, not 1 inch.

What is your camera's minimum focusing distance in its supermacro mode?
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 1:50 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default

in manual said about 10,6mm in super macro mode & 7,2mm in macro mode....

here's one of another bee's shot...
enjoy

Camera Model Name
Canon PowerShot Pro1
Shooting Date/Time
7/10/04 10:51:29 AM
Shooting Mode
Aperture-Priority AE
Photo Effect Mode
Vivid
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/320
Av( Aperture Value )
3.5
Metering Mode
Center-weighted averaging
Exposure Compensation
0
ISO Speed
50
Lens
7.2 - 50.8mm
Focal Length
10.6mm
Flash
Off
White Balance
Daylight
Super Macro
On
Color Space
Adobe RGB
Owner's Name
Andre Christian


Attached Images
 
andre christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 2:13 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
geoffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,025
Default

Just superb shots from that combination of your camera and yourself! However do you get these bees to pose for you like that? They don't seem to cooperate for me...
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 2:21 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default

i guess the red on is a lucky shot and a lucky place i've pointed my cam to wait about 20sec of waiting...luckily the bee stop in front of me in no time i've just shot....phew...this is one lucky shot...

& maybe the bees wanting thats happen...


regards
andre christian is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:35 PM.