Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Jul 15, 2004, 9:29 PM   #1

Hi everyone, few days ago I've posted some raptor shots that was taken when I met these 2 trainers. I still have some shots in my magic trick bag. Kept this one fora rainy day, where I had nothing else to do than do some serious PS work

So here it is, a neat Bald Eagle, tongue out with a lean mean look

This photo is a nice challenge, how to expose this correctly ? I've taken many shots at different exposure speed, went from 1/320 sec to 1/640 sec, chose the last one. At 1/320 the white feathers were overexposed, couldn't retrieve enough blown highlights and the shots in between were not to my taste - question of how the bird was presenting himself. Chose this one knowing that the darker feathers would show noise if I push the exposure on the positive side. Was taken at ISO800. Used all the tricks I know in PS (I'm still learning, lol) to get the most I had.

Cheers everyone

Eric CAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2004, 10:33 PM   #2

Eric, you caught the dynamics of that bird's face wonderfully. These raptors amaze me, and their eyesight, well, one would think that they eat a ton of carrots per day in order to be able to see as well as they do. Whenever I even a hawk on the road, 500 yards away, I know that it can see the beads in my gaze and that's exactly why they take off before I can even begin to get a photograph.
Normcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2004, 10:50 PM   #3

Agree with you Norm, guess we wish for an instant to see what they are seeing. Would be amazing. Betcha our lens are pale in comparison, LOL !

Been told these are wonderfull fishers, I thought they were after birds, the trainer told me they were not.

Thanks and cheers
Old Jul 15, 2004, 11:19 PM   #4

Wonderfully detailed shot Eric! The expression on that bird (and the sharp beak and talons) would strike fear into any potential prey!