Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Sep 7, 2004, 5:43 AM   #1

This is my first try at photography under controlled lighting... Just a desklamp though Any feedback muchly appreciated

EDIT: fixed the photo up a bit more so I've changed it again
Attached Images

hackphotographer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 7, 2004, 7:54 PM   #2

I like how the stark shadow of his antennae work :-)

Unfortunately, it wasn't preserved in the rest of the shell shadow and it fades taking away from the otherwise cool shadow (bouncing off something perhaps?).

It seems a tad overexposed around the edges for my liking, and the shadow on his shell itself hides the nice coloration (though hard to get cool shadows and full detail).

Overall, a LOT better than my first controlled lighting attempts :-)
sjburges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2004, 10:53 PM   #3

Thanks heaps for the comments... Doesn't seem like anyone else is very interested. Maybe I need a better title! Here's another one....
Attached Images

hackphotographer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2004, 4:40 AM   #4

I like the second one better - less hidden in shadows, even if the shadows for the antannae aren't as cool as the first one.

Were you using a flash in addition to the desklamp on this one? It looks like there's 2 distinct levels of shadow here. It could just be bouncing off a wall.

The overexposure on the edges is not present either!