Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Feb 11, 2005, 1:19 PM   #1

I learned of a large flock of cedar waxwings this past weekend. So I just had to go over. They are beautiful birds, aren't they?

I kinda feel like I over sharpened in the head, what do you all think? I'm starting to think that 1/500 just wasn't fast enough. I've got some more that I'm going to edit up later.

Camera: 20D 600mm f4 +1.4TC 1/500 f5.6 flash & -1FEC, tripod, RAW
PhotoShop: exposure on RAW convert, contrast, selective-sharpening, reduce.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2005, 1:30 PM   #2

Eric, I think its lovely! Sometimes I don't post comments as I feel like I am just saying gorgeous, lovely, etc. over and over - I am not experienced enough at this point to give technical comments. Still, I love everything about it - it looks soft and warm - warm fuzzy feeling??
suze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2005, 1:41 PM   #3

Just beautiful Eric, just beautiful. And I'm wondering why you didn't go at least one Fstop smaller to get all of it in good focus. But I guess using the flash limited you to that didn't it. I'm far from being the photographer that you are and I'm surely not being critical. And shooting with that much magnification you must have a very sturdy tripod and remote release. Sure wish there were some of them around here.

Cheers

Houston
Houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2005, 2:08 PM   #4
Super Moderator

That's a brilliant shot. You've judged the fill flash just right. The lighting is excellent.

I'd agree that the head is a touch sharp, but it would depend on output resolution/print size/etc nothing to worry about.

Just curious - there seems to be a red "smudge" obscuring the tail somewhat - is that a leaf or flower or lens flare or something else?

Really head and shoulders above most of (the sometimes very good photos) we see here.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote