Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Mar 13, 2005, 8:42 PM   #1

zoomn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 13, 2005, 8:50 PM   #2

These are great photos of some sort of raptor (I'm not the expert on that sort of thing so I can't help you on an identification). Detail in the head and feather area is excellent and color saturation is superb (as always with that lens). I'm on a fast dialup line that reduces photo resolutions inline in order to speed up the surfing and I can usually see a distinct degradation but these look good even with fast dialup engaged (I can enable and disable it when I want).

Hopefully I can get a chance at one of these, or something similar, in due time. Cheers.
Normcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 9:09 PM   #3

I'm no expert, but it looks like a Broad-Winged Hawk to me. I think that would be pretty rare if you took that shot in Idaho, but I'm pretty sure they have been in those parts before.

Like I said, I'm really just guessing.

Nice clear shots, btw.
Wannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 11:53 PM   #4

It looks more like a Taiga Merlin (small, dark Falcon) to me. Looking in my Photo guide to No. Am. Raptors it seems to match up the best. I will check with a Falconer friend of mine and get back to you.

Beautiful shots by the way.

smac
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2005, 5:45 PM   #5

I finally heard back from my Falconer friend and here is what he had to say.

"Hey Steve,