Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Jul 6, 2006, 11:26 AM   #1

Canon EOS 30D, 1/250 @ f11, with flash E-TTL compensted 1/3 , 600mm f4 L = 1.4x

This bird, sometimes referred to as a "Wild Canary", was photographed in June in Oklahoma City, OK.

Here is the image properly composed.
Attached Images

redrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 6, 2006, 7:54 PM   #2
VP

Nice colors.....seems to be in deep thought.
VP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2006, 5:03 PM   #3

Wow, great color and DOF.

Jeff
jbarrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2006, 1:18 AM   #4

He must have flown over to my house near Tulsa Oklahoma. :G I use a 20D and Canon 75-300 5.6 Not as good as your pic but I am just learning. You set the curve real high. I notice you use a 1.4X multiplier, Do you like it or should one go for the 2X?
Attached Images

RP33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2006, 7:59 AM   #5

Oh oh, he made it all the way to Minnesota and met with my D200 and 80-400mm VR. :-)

Buzzsaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2006, 7:38 PM   #6

Very nice images in Tulsa and Minnesota. To the question of 1.4x versus 2x. Since the Canon 20D like the 30d both have a crop factor of of 1.6 I feel the 1.4x teleconverteris sufficient for my photography. Teleconverters can depreciate resolution and of coursethe loss of 1 or 2 stops in aperture. The quid pro quoof Teleconverters are thesedetriments.The degradingof resolution is more my concern than the increase in focal length. With my zoom lens, I find teleconverters are a little more degrading than with prime lens. Some teleconverterswork better than others which is another factor.
Old Jul 12, 2006, 5:12 PM   #7

What teleconverter would you suggest for a canon 75-300 on a budget
RP33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2006, 6:02 PM   #8
Log